About Us

Founded by Betty Webster Award winner Glenn Mallory in 1965, the HPYO is proud be entering our 53rd season of youth music-making.  Our season runs from September to May.

The HPYO is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors, managed by an Executive Director, and frequently enlists the help of wonderful community volunteers to help out at concerts and events.

Click here to find information for members and alumni of the HPYO.


To be the foremost student based symphony orchestra in the Hamilton region.


Through our commitment to excellence and high technical standards we establish the fundamental skills associated with symphonic playing and expose students to a broad range of orchestral repertoire and the skills associated with its execution.

Provide a learning environment for youth that:




Colin Clarke is sought after as a conductor, clinician, adjudicator, and composer, having captured the attention of instrumental and choral ensembles, schools and music festivals across Canada and the United States.  A recipient of the Clifford Evans Award for Conducting, Colin has led performances throughout Canada, the US, and Eastern Europe and has collaborated with a broad range of artists and ensembles including trumpet virtuoso Allen Vizzutti, the Toronto Mendelssohn Choir, Ballet Jörgen, Orchestra London (Canada), the Canadian Brass, and the US Army Herald Trumpets, the official fanfare ensemble for the President of the United States.

Colin is perhaps best known as the founder and Artistic Director of the Toronto Youth Wind Orchestra, an ensemble he began as a high school student.  Now in its 21st season, the multi-award winning ensemble has earned a reputation nationwide as on of the leading performance ensembles of its kind in Canada.  Under Colin’s baton, the Wind Orchestra made its Carnegie Hall debut in 2006 and was invited for a return performance in 2011.

With a passion for music education and outreach, Colin maintains a commitment to working with young people and the community.  In the spring of 2008, he served as conductor of the prestigious National Youth Band of Canada.  He has conducted all-city bands, orchestras, and choirs across Ontario, and has led the Provincial Honour Bands of Alberta, Manitoba, Quebec, and Prince Edward Island.

Board of Directors

Rian McLaughlin – Chair

Jamshed Turel – Vice Chair

Bob Meehan – Secretary

Carrie Hughes – Treasurer

Richard Allen – Director

Dan Rutherford – Director

Matthew Willet – Director



Dr. Grégoire Gagnon – Executive Director

Colin Clarke – Music Director

Nicola Schneider – Orchestra Administrator

Ailish Corbett – Media Manager